Real Life – Forced Change

No one likes when something is ‘forced’ upon them. We all like to have some control over our lives. However, we all know that is not always possible.

The examples of forced change in my life tend to be defining moments in my life. They were also moments where my resiliency increased. Some of them include losing family members, moving to a new home, getting married and having a baby. Of course there are more examples (probably daily examples like road construction or the baby getting teeth) but those big life moments tend to be the examples of forced change that I think of first.

When you think of all the above examples, they all seem to have a common tie. That tie is emotion. It would seem that forced change brings up more intense emotion. Maybe this is why I would argue that this type off change is harder to trust the process. I think we all like to have control in our lives. Forced change takes that away and replaces the control with an emotion, usually fear or frustration.

Considering these emotions are amplified, that is why I suggested the 5 ways to help in the other entry (consistency, listen, distract, reward system, social stories/communication). When you are struggling with something in your life, where do you go, what do you do? For many, they talk with a friend or see a counselor. That person usually listens and distracts. And if they don’t answer the phone right away, you get more emotional. Which is why you call someone who consistantly picks up the phone when you call. The person provides you an opportunity to communicate your wants and needs. And afterwards, you probably have some chocolate or ice cream. All 5 responses in one conversation.

Forced change has changed my life drastically. As much as I hate this type of change, it is because of this change that I am who I am today. I will continue to grow and adapt because of forced change. Sometimes, now, I look forward to that next opportunity to grow. But it is not easy. When you are faced with changes in your life that you cannot control, remember the 5 ways to help with this change that was talked about in my previous blog and listed above. Those steps have always helped me. Lean on each other.

Remember, Change is hard. Start the transition. Trust the process.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started